Communal Restaurant Review & Giveaway

October 6th, 2009 in Giveaways

The winner of this giveaway is Pamela who said, “Hearing lots of good things about this restaurant. I want to try it out!! Yummy!”

100 North University Avenue
Provo, Utah 84601
801.373.8000

(Full Disclosure: I was given a free meal with a group of fun bloggers and a $25 Gift Certificate while reviewing Communal Restaurant)

Over the years, my husband has turned me into a full fledged foodie.  I blame him entirely for all the extra love on myself. But heck it has been worth it, because I really do love to eat. Although I don’t eat just anything.  We are terribly picky and only want THE BEST in the food world (seriously who do we think we are? who knows).

And that is why, after moving out of Utah County a year or so ago, I am terribly disappointed. Who knew these two amazing chefs would come into Provo and TRANSFORM the dining possibilities down there. After eating at the Communal, remembering how delicious Pizzeria 712 is (their other restaurant), AND hearing that they are going to open SEVEN OTHER Restaurants down there PLUS a catering company, my heart broke.

But then I remembered it takes just as long to go to Provo as it does to Salt Lake (ahh–if you drive super fast to Provo or a bit under the speed limit to Salt Lake).  Because let me tell you, I will be back to their restaurants and as often as I can make it.

I tasted H-E-A-V-E-N at the Communal last week.  No, I am not being over dramatic. I did, and it’s all I can think about. May I present the butterscotch pot de creme (along side the chocolate caramel tart)

I could not believe my taste buds.  How could everything taste so out of this world? So delectable? So fresh? SO perfect? Not too fussy, but just right? Oh I don’t know, but they did it- and beyond.

Oh, did I mention they work with local farmers? Awesome, I know.

To top it off, their love from the food isn’t where it stops.  They have a love for where they live and for their customers.  You can feel that love as soon as you walk in the door.

P.S. Thank you for letting me use your picture, Communal, from your blog.  Mine did not turn out that night!

Want me to get to the good part already?

Communal Restaurant is hosting a Giveaway on my site to treat you and a date to dinner!

For the chance to win a $40 Gift Certificate to Communal you MUST:

-Comment on this post ONCE

-For 5 extra entries Facebook about the giveaway

-For an additional 5 extra entries Twitter about the giveaway

Good Luck!

57 Responses to “Communal Restaurant Review & Giveaway”

  • Lindsey P
    October 6th, 2009 at 1:57 pm

    Holy Yum! We need some good food around here. Thanks for the heads up, I’ll keep my fingers crossed. I didn’t see the address posted?

  • Melissa {is•ly}
    October 6th, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    That food looks divine. Count me in!!

    I tweeted about it here:
    http://twitter.com/melissapher/status/4655450797

  • Lindsey P
    October 6th, 2009 at 2:02 pm

    Dang I’m snappy. Tweeted this AND posted in on Facebook. Can’t wait to try it!

  • Jenny H
    October 6th, 2009 at 2:04 pm

    I will be in Utah for Christmas and would love to try out a new restaurant! Thanks!

  • Sarah
    October 6th, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    Yum! I hope i win. I tweeted and posted on facebook.

  • dalene
    October 6th, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    i love their food at pizzeria 712. can’t wait to try this. comment. here. tweet done. thanks!

  • Emily
    October 6th, 2009 at 2:29 pm

    This place looks and sounds so yummy!!! Thanks for writing about it!

  • Robyn
    October 6th, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    That food is making my mouth water! That would make a great date for me and my sweetie.

  • Joanna Wilde
    October 6th, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    guess i moved to provo just in time! how wonderful!

  • Robyn
    October 6th, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    I tweeted @bellabuttercup

  • Kendahl
    October 6th, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    Mmmm, I want to try this place desperately!

  • mrs. r
    October 6th, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    i need!

  • Jessica
    October 6th, 2009 at 3:32 pm

    oops! I think I accidently deleted my comment. :) I sure hope I win!!!

  • Jessica
    October 6th, 2009 at 3:33 pm

    I just posted on FaceBook – Jessica Walker Stier

  • Jessica
    October 6th, 2009 at 3:34 pm

    Tweet! Tweet!

  • Erica
    October 6th, 2009 at 3:34 pm

    Sounds delicious and so close to me. Would love to try it. I will Facebook about it.

  • Jennifer
    October 6th, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    Love to go!

  • ~j.
    October 6th, 2009 at 4:01 pm

    I comment.
    I fb.
    I twitter.

    I go all the way to ELEVEN.

    (I groan at a laaaaame joke.)

  • Clerissa
    October 6th, 2009 at 4:10 pm

    Please enter me, and I will facebook it right now :)

    ~C

  • Olea
    October 6th, 2009 at 4:36 pm

    I’m doing it! I’m doing it! Maybe a birthday present for myself! woot! woot!
    Looks so delicious. I should stop surfing the web when I’m hungry…

  • Emily H.
    October 6th, 2009 at 4:44 pm
  • jenny
    October 6th, 2009 at 5:13 pm

    I would love to go try this place out! It looks delicious.

  • Celeste
    October 6th, 2009 at 5:54 pm

    Yummy!! I’ve heard about their Pizzeria 712 but didn’t know where it was. Now I’ll have to try both resturants, how oh how will I handle it? lol Ü I also posted about it on my facebook so count me down for 5 more entries!! I’m crossing my fingers and toes hoping I win!!

  • cecy
    October 6th, 2009 at 7:02 pm

    would love to try it!

  • Emily M.
    October 6th, 2009 at 7:35 pm

    I would love to try it! Sounds fabulous.

  • Leslie
    October 6th, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    I’ve never heard of it but you’ve made me want to check it out!

  • Hannah
    October 6th, 2009 at 8:22 pm

    I suddenly feel incredibly hungry!

  • noelle
    October 6th, 2009 at 8:41 pm

    Awesome review Vanessa! I’m hungry now…

  • Danielle Mahoney
    October 6th, 2009 at 9:33 pm

    I love Colton! I work with him when he was the Executive Chef at Inn on the Creek and he is a great teacher as well as an amazing Chef. Hats off to the amazing work they are doing in the restraunt biz in Utah County. I am going to twitter now. Yipee

  • Dave Galbraith
    October 6th, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    I live up here in Logan (Happy Valley North…), and just learned of Colton’s projects from Pete and Jeniffer of Rockhill Creamery. Can’t wait to try it next time I’m in Happy Valley South!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Connie
    October 7th, 2009 at 12:44 am

    A great giveaway! Count me in!

  • Carolee
    October 7th, 2009 at 1:08 am

    I would love to try this place out!!! Looks fabulous.

  • Connie
    October 7th, 2009 at 3:35 am

    Yes please! I’m always up for trying something new!

  • Camille
    October 7th, 2009 at 3:36 am

    I would love to try the food there – especially with a GC!

  • Camille
    October 7th, 2009 at 3:38 am

    I tweeted about the giveaway

  • Camille
    October 7th, 2009 at 3:39 am

    Totally facebooked!

  • Geo
    October 7th, 2009 at 3:41 am

    Oh, am I ever hungry for something amazing! Pick me!

  • Debbie
    October 7th, 2009 at 4:45 am

    My sister knows one of those guys and took us to 712. Yum scrum it was great! I’d love to go try this place!

  • Debbie
    October 7th, 2009 at 4:48 am

    I tweeted @cranberryfries and fb’d it!

  • Kimberly G.
    October 7th, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    My 2nd anniversary is coming up! I need this!!! It looks sooo yummy.

  • Kimberly G.
    October 7th, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    Facebooked ya! :)

  • Kimberly G.
    October 7th, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    Re-tweeted!

  • jessie huish
    October 7th, 2009 at 4:44 pm

    i want to win!

  • Kath
    October 8th, 2009 at 1:36 am

    I’d love to enter!

  • pamela
    October 8th, 2009 at 7:11 am

    Hearing lots of good things about this restaurant. I want to try it out!! Yummy!

  • pamela
    October 8th, 2009 at 7:12 am

    I tweeted about this giveaway!

  • rookie cookie
    October 8th, 2009 at 9:47 pm

    It really was quite amazing. I can’t wait to go back. Those dudes know what they are doing.

    And don’t count this as an entry. I would feel like such a jerk if I won because I already have one of the gift certificates burning a hole in my wallet.

  • Melinda
    October 9th, 2009 at 2:14 pm

    Oh please! I want to try this restaurant and the 40.00 will help me do that.

  • Jen
    October 9th, 2009 at 11:07 pm

    I SO want to try their new restaurant out. It is killing me that it has already been open for two weeks and I haven’t made it up there yet.

  • Lisa bell
    October 10th, 2009 at 2:58 am

    i’m crossing my fingers

  • amy smith
    November 7th, 2009 at 2:44 am

    I live around the corner from Communal and have been so excited about all the great new restaurants in downtown Provo. Downtown is finally becoming the destination it should be.

  • Jessica
    April 13th, 2010 at 5:41 pm

    Do you know the prices roughly for both lunch and dinner?

  • mario games 1000 flash games
    April 19th, 2013 at 5:54 pm

    I was basically wanting to know if you ever thought of adjusting the page layout of your site? It is very well written; I love what you have got to say. But maybe you could add a a bit more in the way of written content so people might connect to it better. You have got a great deal of text for only having one or two images. Maybe you could space it out better?

  • William Persechino
    May 30th, 2013 at 9:03 pm

    Hi superb website! Does running a blog like this take a great deal of work? I’ve no expertise in programming however I was hoping to start my own blog in the near future. Anyway, should you have any ideas or techniques for new blog owners please share. I know this is off topic but I simply needed to ask. Thanks!

  • Visit my website
    June 12th, 2013 at 5:05 pm

    the TV Stands that i bought online is made of lighweight aluminum, i like aluminum because it can be anodized-

  • Seo Company Services
    July 4th, 2013 at 11:29 pm

    I’ve recently started a blog, the info you offer on this website has helped me greatly. Thank you for all of your time & work.

  • Communal reviews. So far so good. |
    October 8th, 2013 at 3:09 am

    [...] I Never Grew Up [...]

Leave a Reply